Arkansas Nurse License Overview

Temp License:
BON website
(501) 686-2700


Endorsement Application: $125.00

Temporary Permit: $30.00

Fingerprint Processing Fee: $36.25

Licensure fees are the same for RN and LPN licenses. 

How long does it take to get an Arkansas Nursing License?

Permanent License

The BON does not commit to a timeframe for permanent licensure.

Temporary License

The BON does not commit to a timeframe for permanent licensure.

AR License Renewal

  • Renewal cadence: Renewal of your license occurs on a staggered biennial birth date system. Due to this, the first license may be valid from 3 months to 2 years, depending upon one's birth date.
  • Renewal fee: $100.00 for RNs, and $90.00 for LPNs.
  • Required contact hours: 15 contact hours in the 24 months preceding the renewal date. In lieu of contact hours, one of the following may be completed: 
    - Certification or re-certification during the renewal period by a national certifying body recognized by the ASBN.
    - Completion of an academic course in nursing or a related field with a grade of C or better.  
  • The renewal link will be available 60 days prior to license expiration.
  • The renewal link will be available 60 days prior to license expiration.

Important Things to Know about Arkansas Nurse Licenses

  • Once a license (temporary or permanent) is issued, licensure status may be verified by accessing the ASBN Registry Search.  ASBN does not mail out a paper license. 
  • A one-time blue plastic license card will be mailed to you in approximately two months; this card is not considered primary source verification of licensure. 
  • Only Visa, MasterCard, or Discover credit card payments are accepted.
  • A state and federal criminal background check is required if they are not already on file with the Arkansas State Board of Nursing within the last 12 months of application. Background checks from other agencies are NOT accepted.
  • Click here for the Arkansas Nursing Board’s FAQ section.

AR Licensure by Endorsement


Permanent License

  1. Submit an application online and pay the fee. The process is the same for RNs and LPNs
  2. Provide a valid United States Social Security Number.
  3. Declare your Primary State of Residence and provide proof, such as:
  • Driver’s license with a home address 
  • Federal income tax return with a primary state of residence declaration   
  • Voter registration card with a home address Military form no. 2058 (state of legal residence certificate); or 
  • Military form no. 2058 (state of legal residence certificate); or
  • W2 form from the United States government or any bureau, division, or agency thereof, indicating residence  
  1. Request verification of licensure via Nursys from your original state of licensure. 
    If this state does not participate in Nursys, you will need to contact that state's BON and request verification be sent to the Arkansas BON via the Verification of Licensure form.
  2. Verify your employment information. If you have not been engaged in the active practice of nursing for a period greater than five (5) years, you need to document completion of the following:
  • Completion of an Arkansas-approved refresher course within one (1) year of the date of application.
  • Graduation from an approved nursing education program within one year of the date of application.
  1. Provide a background check with fingerprints. Instructions for fingerprinting can be found here.
    Arkansas law requires applicants for licensure to submit a state and federal criminal background check.

    Follow the instructions located on the ASBN website and submit your request by accessing the Criminal Background Checks System.

    You must print the Criminal Background Check Instructions and follow the directions carefully. This system is separate from the application system. 

    Click here for further Criminal Background Check Instructions.

Temporary License

  1. A temporary permit, which authorizes practice as a nurse in Arkansas while awaiting permanent licensure, may be requested for an additional fee.
  2. A one-time temporary permit may be issued to a qualified applicant who holds an unencumbered active license from another jurisdiction.
  3. Once issued, temporary permit status may be verified by accessing the website Choose the second portal, Quick Confirm.
  4. If you wish to be issued a provisional license, please indicate this on your application. 
  5. Temporary permits are valid for 6 months and are non-renewable. 
  6. Once all items have been received by the BON except the results of your background check, you may be issued a provisional license.

Let's start building the life you want.

Join the movement