New Hampshire Nurse License Overview

Temp License:
BON website
(603) 271-2152


Endorsement Application: $148.00

Temporary Permit: $25.00

Fingerprinting Fee: $48.25

Fees are the same for RNs and LPNs.

How long does it take to get a New Hampshire Nursing License?

Permanent License

The BON does not commit to a timeframe for permanent licensure.

Temporary License

The BON does not commit to a timeframe for temporary licensure.

NH License Renewal

  • Renewal cadence: Every two years for both RNs and LPNs. Your first renewal will occur on the second birthday from issue date, not to exceed 2 years 
  • Notifications for renewal are typically emailed two times prior to the license expiration date. An expired notice will also be emailed 30 days after the expiration date. The email address used for setting up your account will receive the renewal notifications.
  • Complete your renewal via the online portal. 
  • Renewal fee: $108
  • Required contact hours: Complete 30 contact hours, as well as one of the following Active in Practice requirements:

    - 400 hours active in practice in 4 years immediately prior to the date of application.
    - Have completed a board-approved refresher program within 2 years of application or have successfully completed NCLEX examination within 2 years of application Complete one of the following Continuing Education requirements.
    - Successful completion of a refresher course within 2 years of date of application.
    - Continuing education must be tracked by the CE Broker. More information can be found here

Important Things to Know about New Hampshire Nurse Licenses

  • Your application is valid for 180 days. If incomplete after 180 days have passed, your application will be discarded and you must reapply and repay the application fee.
  • Note that It can take 4-6 weeks for the New Hampshire State Board of Nursing to receive the results from your criminal background check and you cannot receive a temporary license until then.
  • Paper applications are not accepted.
  • Review the New Hampshire BON’s FAQs here

NH Licensure by Endorsement


Permanent License

  1. Submit an application online and pay the fee. The process is the same for RNs and LPNs. You can view the checklist of necessary items here
  2. Provide a copy of your state-issued Driver’s License. 
  3. Request verification of licensure via Nursys from your original state of licensure and the state where you are currently employed. If these states do not participate in Nursys, you will need to contact that state's BON and request verification be sent to the New Hampshire BON.
  4. Provide a background check with fingerprints. Instructions for fingerprinting, along with the background check form, can be found here. You can have electronic fingerprinting done by Livescan, or have inked fingerprinting done by an authorized agency. 
  5. Submit a letter of explanation sent with the application to the Board of Nursing for any conviction of a misdemeanor, felony, or criminal act, not including traffic violations required where applicable. 
  6. Provide CGFNS or the credentialing report that was submitted to the state initially licensed if you were educated outside the United States (if applicable)

Temporary License

  1. Out-of-state nursing professionals with an active license in good standing may apply for a temporary license.
  2. Temporary permits are valid for 120 days.
  3. Once all items have been received by the board except your verification of licensure from a state that does not participate in Nursys, or your background check results, you may be issued a provisional license.

Let's start building the life you want.

Join the movement