Florida
,
FL
eNLC:
Yes
Walk-Through:
No
Temp License:
No
Nursys:
Yes
BON website
P:
(850) 488-0595

Fees

Endorsement Application: $110.00

Timing

Temporary License

Alabama Board of Nursing does not provide a definitive timeline. Timing is dependent upon your willingness to be proactive as items are processed on a first come, first serve basis. Processing takes 24-48 hours upon receipt of all required documentation. The temporary license is valid for 120 days and is nonrenewable.

License Renewal

  • Renewal cadence: Biannually, in 3 groups (April 30 of even years, July 31 of even years, and April 30 of odd years). Check your license for your exact expiration date.
  • Renewal fee: $75 if renewed on time. Late renewals will incur an additional fee of $55.
  • Required contact hours: 16. These hours must consist of the following course types:

    - 2 hours Human Trafficking

    - 2 hours prevention of medical errors

    - 2 hours Florida laws and rules

    - 2 hours recognizing impairment in the workplace

    - 2 hours domestic violence

    - 1 hour HIV/AIDS
  • First time renewals need only complete the following:

    - 2 hours of Medical Error

    - 2 hours in Florida laws and rules

    - 2 hours of Recognizing Impairment in the Workplace

    - 2 hours of Human Trafficking

    - 1 hour of HIV/AIDS.
  • Initial licenses that were issued for less than 24 months are required to complete 1 hour for each month that the license was valid for; these hours must include the required hours listed above.
  • If you receive your initial credential in the months leading up to your renewal window, you are still required to renew your license and begin the 2-year renewal cycle.
  • Renewal may take 7-10 business days.

Important Things to Know

  • Here are the Board's top 10 tips for endorsement applications.

Licensure by Endorsement

Process

Permanent License

  1. Submit an application online and pay the fee.
  2. Provide a background check with fingerprints. You will need to schedule an electronic fingerprint appointment with a Livescan service provider.
  3. Request verification of licensure via Nursys from your original state of licensure and the state where you are currently employed. If these states do not participate in Nursys, you will need to contact that state's BON and request verification be sent to the Florida BON.
  4. Once all materials are submitted, an application specialist will review your application. It may be necessary for the application specialist to request additional information.

Let's start building the life you want.

Join the movement
Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, state-by-state licensure changes have been a daily occurrence. For up-to-date information regarding licensing regulations, please see this page.

Licensure By Endorsement

Florida

-

FL

eNLC:
Yes
(visit)
Temp License:
No
Walkthrough:
No
Nursys:
Yes
P:
(850) 488-0595
Florida

The Process

Permanent License

  1. Submit an application online and pay the fee.
  2. Provide a background check with fingerprints. You will need to schedule an electronic fingerprint appointment with a Livescan service provider.
  3. Request verification of licensure via Nursys from your original state of licensure and the state where you are currently employed. If these states do not participate in Nursys, you will need to contact that state's BON and request verification be sent to the Florida BON.
  4. Once all materials are submitted, an application specialist will review your application. It may be necessary for the application specialist to request additional information.

Renewal License

  • Renewal cadence: Biannually, in 3 groups (April 30 of even years, July 31 of even years, and April 30 of odd years). Check your license for your exact expiration date.
  • Renewal fee: $75 if renewed on time. Late renewals will incur an additional fee of $55.
  • Required contact hours: 16. These hours must consist of the following course types:

    - 2 hours Human Trafficking

    - 2 hours prevention of medical errors

    - 2 hours Florida laws and rules

    - 2 hours recognizing impairment in the workplace

    - 2 hours domestic violence

    - 1 hour HIV/AIDS
  • First time renewals need only complete the following:

    - 2 hours of Medical Error

    - 2 hours in Florida laws and rules

    - 2 hours of Recognizing Impairment in the Workplace

    - 2 hours of Human Trafficking

    - 1 hour of HIV/AIDS.
  • Initial licenses that were issued for less than 24 months are required to complete 1 hour for each month that the license was valid for; these hours must include the required hours listed above.
  • If you receive your initial credential in the months leading up to your renewal window, you are still required to renew your license and begin the 2-year renewal cycle.
  • Renewal may take 7-10 business days.

Timing

Permanent License

Approximately 30 days upon receipt of all required materials.

Fees

Endorsement Application: $110.00

Important things to Know About Applying For Licensure for Endorsement

  • Here are the Board's top 10 tips for endorsement applications.
Download Now

Download the full
Licensure Guide here