Massachusetts
,
MA
eNLC:
No (pending)
Walk-Through:
Yes
Temp License:
No
Nursys:
Yes
BON website
P:
(800) 414-0168

Fees

Endorsement Application: $275


Timing

Temporary License

Alabama Board of Nursing does not provide a definitive timeline. Timing is dependent upon your willingness to be proactive as items are processed on a first come, first serve basis. Processing takes 24-48 hours upon receipt of all required documentation. The temporary license is valid for 120 days and is nonrenewable.

License Renewal

  • Renewal cadence: Every 2 years by your birthday during even numbered years.
  • Renewal fee: $120. Late renewals will incur an additional fee of $57.
  • Required contact hours: 15
  • The renewal period begins 90 days before your birthday.

Important Things to Know

  • Paper licenses are not distributed. License verification can be found here.
  • Foreign educated nurses may be required to provide additional documentation.
  • Credit card is the only accepted form of payment.

Licensure by Endorsement

Process

Permanent License

  1. Read the Statutes, Rules, Regulations and Policies. Your electronic signature on the online application will attest that you completed this requirement.
  2. Provide proof that you graduated from a board-approved nursing program.
  3. Provide that you are of Good Moral Character, as defined by Massachusetts state law.

    1. You will be required to provide specific documentation for GMC evaluation if you answer yes to questions related to criminal or disciplinary history.

    2. At this time you will also provide consent for a background check to be conducted by the Massachusetts Department of Children and Families (DCF) database.

    3. Applicants should allow a minimum of 8 weeks to complete GMC evaluation after all required documents have been received.
  4. Provide evidence that you have passed the National Council Licensure Examination (NCLEX).  Request to have your Official Final Transcript that led to initial RN licensure sent directly to the Board from your educational program.

    1. If you have multiple nursing degrees, please submit the transcript from your first RN nursing diploma/degree program.

    2. The Board will accept final official electronic transcripts received directly from the primary source (such as the School, Parchment, or the National Student Clearinghouse) via secure server to transcripts@pcshq.com.

    3. Or, Official Final Transcripts can be mailed by the educational program directly to PCS at:
    ATTN: MA Board of Registration in Nursing
    C/O MA Nurse Coordinator
    P.O. Box 198788 Nashville, TN 37219
  5. Obtain a 2×2 color passport size photo. This is required before starting your online application.  The photo must have a plain background and be taken within the last year.
  6. Request verification of licensure via Nursys from your original state of licensure. If this state does not participate in Nursys, you will need to contact that state's BON and request verification be sent to the Massachusetts BON.
  7. Provide a valid Social Security number.
  8. Submit required fees and then complete the online application, including the Child Protective Services (CPS) Background Record Request Form.
  9. Applicants for initial licensure must complete a one-time course of training and education in the diagnosis, treatment and care of patients with cognitive impairments, including, but not limited to, Alzheimer’s disease and dementia.

Let's start building the life you want.

Join the movement
Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, state-by-state licensure changes have been a daily occurrence. For up-to-date information regarding licensing regulations, please see this page.

Licensure By Endorsement

Massachusetts

-

MA

eNLC:
No (pending)
(visit)
Temp License:
No
Walkthrough:
Yes
Nursys:
Yes
P:
(800) 414-0168
Massachusetts

The Process

Permanent License

  1. Read the Statutes, Rules, Regulations and Policies. Your electronic signature on the online application will attest that you completed this requirement.
  2. Provide proof that you graduated from a board-approved nursing program.
  3. Provide that you are of Good Moral Character, as defined by Massachusetts state law.

    1. You will be required to provide specific documentation for GMC evaluation if you answer yes to questions related to criminal or disciplinary history.

    2. At this time you will also provide consent for a background check to be conducted by the Massachusetts Department of Children and Families (DCF) database.

    3. Applicants should allow a minimum of 8 weeks to complete GMC evaluation after all required documents have been received.
  4. Provide evidence that you have passed the National Council Licensure Examination (NCLEX).  Request to have your Official Final Transcript that led to initial RN licensure sent directly to the Board from your educational program.

    1. If you have multiple nursing degrees, please submit the transcript from your first RN nursing diploma/degree program.

    2. The Board will accept final official electronic transcripts received directly from the primary source (such as the School, Parchment, or the National Student Clearinghouse) via secure server to transcripts@pcshq.com.

    3. Or, Official Final Transcripts can be mailed by the educational program directly to PCS at:
    ATTN: MA Board of Registration in Nursing
    C/O MA Nurse Coordinator
    P.O. Box 198788 Nashville, TN 37219
  5. Obtain a 2×2 color passport size photo. This is required before starting your online application.  The photo must have a plain background and be taken within the last year.
  6. Request verification of licensure via Nursys from your original state of licensure. If this state does not participate in Nursys, you will need to contact that state's BON and request verification be sent to the Massachusetts BON.
  7. Provide a valid Social Security number.
  8. Submit required fees and then complete the online application, including the Child Protective Services (CPS) Background Record Request Form.
  9. Applicants for initial licensure must complete a one-time course of training and education in the diagnosis, treatment and care of patients with cognitive impairments, including, but not limited to, Alzheimer’s disease and dementia.

Renewal License

  • Renewal cadence: Every 2 years by your birthday during even numbered years.
  • Renewal fee: $120. Late renewals will incur an additional fee of $57.
  • Required contact hours: 15
  • The renewal period begins 90 days before your birthday.

Timing

Permanent License

Same day or next day upon receipt of all required materials.

Fees

Endorsement Application: $275


Important things to Know About Applying For Licensure for Endorsement

  • Paper licenses are not distributed. License verification can be found here.
  • Foreign educated nurses may be required to provide additional documentation.
  • Credit card is the only accepted form of payment.
Download Now

Download the full
Licensure Guide here