Virginia
,
VA
eNLC:
Yes
Walk-Through:
Yes
Temp License:
Yes
Nursys:
Yes
BON website
P:
(804) 367-4515

Fees

Endorsement Application: $190

Timing

Temporary License

Alabama Board of Nursing does not provide a definitive timeline. Timing is dependent upon your willingness to be proactive as items are processed on a first come, first serve basis. Processing takes 24-48 hours upon receipt of all required documentation. The temporary license is valid for 120 days and is nonrenewable.

License Renewal

  • Renewal cadence: Renewal of your license occurs every 2 years during your birth month. If you were born in an even numbered year, your license will expire every 2 years during even years. If you were born in an odd numbered year, your license will expire every 2 years in odd numbered years. 
  • Renewal fee: $140 if renewed on time. Late renewals will incur an additional fee of $50. 
  • Required contact hours: 15 hours of continuing education and 640 hours of practice as a nurse.
  • If you receive your initial credential in the months leading up to your renewal window, you are still required to renew your license and begin the 2-year renewal cycle.
  • The License Renewal Notice is sent out approximately 60 days before your license is scheduled to expire and includes a unique PIN code you are required to use when renewing your license.

Important Things to Know

  • You can log into your DHP license application portal to check on the status of your application.
  • Your application is valid for 12 months. If incomplete after 12 months have passed, your application will be discarded and you must reapply and repay the application fee.

Licensure by Endorsement

Process

Permanent License

  1. Submit an application online and pay the fee.
  2. Provide a background check with fingerprints. Online applicants will receive an application confirmation receipt containing a Fieldprint Code required to register for fingerprinting. Nurses applying by mail must contact the Virginia BON Criminal Background Check unit for their Fieldprint Code.
  3. Request verification of licensure via Nursys from your original state of licensure. If this state does not participate in Nursys, you will need to contact that state's BON and request verification be sent to the Virginia BON.
  4. Provide proof of your primary state of residence.
  5. Review and agree to the Laws and Regulations governing the practice of Nursing in Virginia.

Temporary License

  1. Once all items have been received by the BON except the criminal background check, you may be issued a provisional license.

Let's start building the life you want.

Join the movement
Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, state-by-state licensure changes have been a daily occurrence. For up-to-date information regarding licensing regulations, please see this page.

Licensure By Endorsement

Virginia

-

VA

eNLC:
Yes
(visit)
Temp License:
Yes
Walkthrough:
Yes
Nursys:
Yes
P:
(804) 367-4515
Virginia

The Process

Permanent License

  1. Submit an application online and pay the fee.
  2. Provide a background check with fingerprints. Online applicants will receive an application confirmation receipt containing a Fieldprint Code required to register for fingerprinting. Nurses applying by mail must contact the Virginia BON Criminal Background Check unit for their Fieldprint Code.
  3. Request verification of licensure via Nursys from your original state of licensure. If this state does not participate in Nursys, you will need to contact that state's BON and request verification be sent to the Virginia BON.
  4. Provide proof of your primary state of residence.
  5. Review and agree to the Laws and Regulations governing the practice of Nursing in Virginia.

Temporary License

  1. Once all items have been received by the BON except the criminal background check, you may be issued a provisional license.

Renewal License

  • Renewal cadence: Renewal of your license occurs every 2 years during your birth month. If you were born in an even numbered year, your license will expire every 2 years during even years. If you were born in an odd numbered year, your license will expire every 2 years in odd numbered years. 
  • Renewal fee: $140 if renewed on time. Late renewals will incur an additional fee of $50. 
  • Required contact hours: 15 hours of continuing education and 640 hours of practice as a nurse.
  • If you receive your initial credential in the months leading up to your renewal window, you are still required to renew your license and begin the 2-year renewal cycle.
  • The License Renewal Notice is sent out approximately 60 days before your license is scheduled to expire and includes a unique PIN code you are required to use when renewing your license.

Timing

Permanent License

Approximately 30-45 business days upon receipt of all required materials.

Temporary License

Same day upon receipt of all required materials.

Fees

Endorsement Application: $190

Important things to Know About Applying For Licensure for Endorsement

  • You can log into your DHP license application portal to check on the status of your application.
  • Your application is valid for 12 months. If incomplete after 12 months have passed, your application will be discarded and you must reapply and repay the application fee.
Download Now

Download the full
Licensure Guide here